Possible scam on domains and sites

Posted by Scott on June 5th, 2008 .

There is likely a new scam email going about, seems to have been fired off repeatedly with many many people getting it all from different names and email addresses but with the same text so I’d be very wary, looks like a scam, the email I received goes like this:

I am interested in purchasing your web site xxxxxxxx.com . If you would like to sell it send me your phone number to call you.
I have cash to buy today!

Thank you

My email was from a ‘Phemie Dull’ aol email address, however the name/email address is different for others like Michael and Andrew, so just a heads up in case you get the same.

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 5th, 2008 and is filed under Business News, Miscellaneous . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

RSS feed | Trackback URI

18 Comments »

Comment by branden from Vagablond Luxury Travel
2008-06-05 18:17:54

Yep. I got one also.
Mine was from a “Kathryn Haile” at a gmail address. It reads:

I just came accross your website vagablond.com, I liked it very much and I have an interest to purchase it. If you are interested in selling it, please give me your phone number, so we can talk.
I have cash to buy today!

Thank you in advance

branden’s last blog post..N’awlin’s :: Good News/Bad News

 
Comment by M!hai @ Freshome Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-05 19:14:34

Today I’ve received the same email, and by mistake I’ve deleted it. :) I have to say that I was curious at beginning.

M!hai @ Freshome’s last blog post..Stink Coffee Table, A Table That Cracked

 
2008-06-05 20:27:58

[...] it’s been up. I was planning on emailing them back just out of curiosity, but then I saw this post pop up in my news reader. Looks like I’m not the only [...]

 
Comment by Ed from Me too Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-05 20:28:51
 
Comment by Amit Bhawani from Tech Blog Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-05 20:44:59

The first reply to these should be how did they find you, would they be interested in payment through escrow & also add up your phone number in case they turn out to be a legit client.

Amit Bhawani’s last blog post..Power-up Tips to Improve Laptop Battery Life

 
Comment by Scott from Scott
2008-06-06 09:17:52

I don’t think anyone has heard back and actually worked out what the scam conists of but it’s been prolific in the last 24 hours, I have had a few.

 
Comment by Al from Al Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-06 09:48:18

I got one from Dinah Losey, it was for an old neglected site of mine. I did reply and heard nothing back yet, strange scam.

 
Comment by M!hai @ Freshome Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-06 11:52:02

The most interesting thing, is how he got our emails, because the emails were pretty targeted to webmasters. I think that he just hacked a database from a webmasters forum, and I feel that the forum is DigitalPoint.

M!hai @ Freshome’s last blog post..Drawerment : A Composition of Drawers from Old Furniture

 
Comment by shashi from acne help
2008-06-06 14:58:17

haa…i came across the same messge yesterday..and i just ignored it..thinking some stupid fellow wants to buy my site..
def. its a scam..

 
Comment by Komodo Dragon from John Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-06 15:22:50

I’ve gotten alot scam emails, paypal, domain sales, you name it. If the normal average user gets these emails, especially ones asking you to login to your paypal account,etc, they are doomed :(

 
Comment by Chris from Jack Jones Network
2008-06-06 16:34:30

Ive not received any of these emails (yet). I kept getting the onces asking about advertising space though, exactly the same email everytime with fake names and stupid email addresses ending in .ru

I can’t figure it out how these scams work.

Chris’s last blog post..Feature On Times Online Blog For Save-Petrol

 
Comment by Craziest Gadgets from Craziest Gadgets Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-07 04:38:34

At this point it sounds more like spam than a scam (posted by a man named dan on a tram on the lam eating spam from a can). If they have your website, name, phone number and email- is there something they can do with all this?

Craziest Gadgets’s last blog post..Golf Club You Can Pee Into

 
Comment by Martin from DevCase Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-09 07:53:56

They could also just do a whois search and check the phone number there couldn’t they? Unless it’s registered with a privacy protection proxy it’s all there.

Martin’s last blog post..In memory card madness you are being silly Sony

 
Comment by GJ from GJ
2008-06-09 18:57:03

I got one too for a website I had hosted with Netfirms that expired 15 days ago. My first thought was that it might have been a clever marketing scam to make me renew my domain name with them.

 
Comment by Stefanie from Vat19 Unique Gifts
2008-06-10 15:29:19

I’m awfully tempted to pick up a pre-paid phone and give them my number, just to see what happens…

I’ve gotten a similar e-mail recently, but my personal sites are all private, so they couldn’t get it that way, anyway (not that it would be nearly as efficient for them as firing off a bazillion e-mails and waiting to see who responds).

 
Comment by Alan Pattinson Subscribed to comments via email
2008-09-11 21:46:44

Received 2 of these letters, perhaps they are just to verify email addresses???
Alan
========================
Hello,

I am interested in purchasing your web site sport-smart.com . If you would like to sell it send me your phone number to call you.
I have cash to buy today!

If you are interested, please reply to 1246dahms.linsey@gmail.com as soon as possible.

Thank you

 
Comment by swee from ForTheClueless Subscribed to comments via email
2008-09-24 22:16:15

I have received one too. Phemie Dull is now a gmail user. I dont know if it is a scam but am not replying to find out. Interestingly, the email redirect came from domainsbyproxy.com, a godaddy related site.

I reproduce the mail here for your perusal:

Phemie Dull

Good day,
We are looking for link partners on the web and I want to ask you is it possible for me to have advertising on your site(mysite), and how much would that cost.

Kind regards

It was unsigned by sent via godaddy’s domainsbyproxy reroute.

 
Comment by JerFollowUp Subscribed to comments via email
2008-10-10 15:47:08

I replied and got a response. How is this a scam??? Wondering why I shouldn’t follow through. Message Text:

Hello,

A representative of our marketing team contacted you with enquiry about advertising on your website (your correspondence is below). First I want to thank you for your reply.

Our website is http://www.altissimo.net

If you think it is suitable for your site, could you please send me the price for a text link, so we can continue our negotiations?

Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you

John

What is the site we would be advertising for?

2008/9/27 Tansy Bennett

> Good day,
> We are looking for link partners on the web and I want to ask you is it
> possible for me to have advertising on your site XXXX.XXX, and
> how much would that cost.
>
> Kind regards

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI (Optional)
Twitter Name (optional)
Title (optional, will be used as link text for top commentators)
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.